Delicate

As the years are passing, it seems they are getting shorter and shorter.  This past year, for example, has gone by so quickly!  Does it seem this way to any of you? 

I walked outside to start my car yesterday morning before I went to work and was surprised to see snow flakes falling around me.  Honestly, I should have been expecting it because yesterday was the first of December.  It just doesn’t seem like it should be time for snow.

It’s hard to believe that we’ve already celebrated Thanksgiving, had wonderful dinners, and gotten together with all of our families.  It’s almost time to do it again for Christmas.  For my family, Thanksgiving was wonderful.  We had amazing food, spent some well deserved time together, and for the first time in my life, I got the chance to try deep-fried turkey!

(The turkey was amazing of course!)  I just can’t believe that it’s already Christmas tree time and presents and cards.  Time is flying by so quickly.  While I was driving to work yesterday in the snow, admittedly I was cursing each little flake that hit my windshield.  And I started thinking.  I don’t hate snow.  I highly dislike the cold, but snow itself does not bother me.  What does bother me is the fact that I have to drive in it.  I cannot sit at home like I used to while the puffy whiteness covers the ground outside.  When I think of Winter, I no longer imagine sledding and being bundled in huge coats while attempting to create a beautiful snowman or snow angel.  I can remember taking out bowls and pitchers and scooping up fresh snow and lugging it back inside to make snow cream (very tasty).  But those images do not hold space in my brain any more.

Now all I can think of is how incovenient winter is.  Last Winter I had to call into work numerous times because we lived up on a curvy Ridge and had a lot of hills to go up and over.   The roads got very dangerous.  When I was younger I would wake up in the mornings praying that the ground would be covered in snow because it meant that I got the day off to do absolutely nothing.  I wouldn’t have to go school or worry about homework.  I never understood why adults didn’t like it as much.  Now I understand.  I find snow and ice amazingly beautiful but not when I have to drive in it, not when I have to risk my life just so I can get to work and sell merchandise to people who shouldn’t be risking their OWN lives by casually dropping by a convenient store as if the roads are not icy snowy death traps. 

The child in me is desperately attempting to claw its way out and fight back the adult that has taken over.  I want to get back to the fun and playfulness that I once linked with snowflakes and icicles.  So this year, I will make a promise to myself.  I will build a snowman with my husband.  I will sled down a hill, and at some point I will lay on the cold, wet ground and make at least one damn snow angel!  So when I wake up in the morning, if snow is falling from the sky, I will look up at it and smile.

Stay warm,
LunaFleur.

One last thing, a friend of mine brought something really neat to my attention tonight.  It’s a Christmas goodie for recovering soldiers.  To brighten their day you can send them a christmas card.  I believe it’s a wonderful idea and a beautiful thing to do.  Here’s the address to send your cards to:

A Recovering American Soldier
c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center
6900 Georgia Avenue
NW Washington, DC
20307-5001

~ by lunafleur on December 2, 2010.

One Response to “Delicate”

  1. The elders always told me that time flew faster each year, and it does indeed. Now that i am becoming an elder, it seems it goes exponentially! I love that you will take time to truly live life, and not just dread the responsibilities placed on us as adults.
    Long may you keep your inner child!
    I hold mine dearly, and hope to see her still with my last breath as an old lady 🙂
    Time is Precious, all of it!

Leave a Reply

 
