Chocolate Kingdom

My husband and I are hot chocolate people.  We love it.  Hot, creamy, and chocolatey.  We love everything about it.  So with ice and snow covering basically everything on the outside world, we’ve had quite a few days inside, cuddling, watching movies, and of course, drinking hot chocolate.  Now, I’ve honestly never made homeade hot cocoa.  And honestly, it’s from sheer laziness, but maybe someday I’ll try to come up with a concoction.  I did, however, decide to put a little spin on our ordinary hot chocolate the other day.  I had some leftover items from my thanksgiving dessert, S’mores Brownies.  It was an amazing recipes from the beautifully talented Darla, over at Bakingdom.  If you haven’t been to her blog, then you should definitely go!  I get most of my recipes from her and they’re all amazing.

Anyways, my husband brought home some Nestle hot cocoa mix and a mug that I’d been dying for.  I love his surprises.  =]

I decided to put a little spin on things and make S’mores Hot Chocolate.  I used one and half packets of Nestle hot cocoa mix and hot water.  (I usually use milk, but unfortunately, we had run out.)  I placed large marshmallows on top, amount depending on the size of the mug, so three for mine.  I sprinkled about a teaspoon of Honeymade Graham Cracker crumbs over the marshmallows, and then some cinnomon sugar over that to taste.  Of course, I had to add chocolate, so I tossed about a handful of Nestle chocolate chips over the top.  A lot of chocolate, yes, but how can you have too much chocolate for a drink like this?  To make it worse, I also dropped one square of Dove dark chocolate into the bottom of the mug so that it would melt at the bottom and give the liquid a richer taste. 

It turned out really amazing.  I loved it.  The only complaints I had about the drink was, of course, the fact that I had to use water.  I’m curious to try this again with milk.  It just makes it so much more creamy and thick.  So very yummy.  Also, don’t add too much of the graham cracker crumbs.  I made that mistake at one point and honestly, it ruined everything.  The crumbs gathered into little balls and took on a texture similar to tapioca pudding.  I can’t see anyone enjoying this, but I have never enjoyed the texture of tapioca pudding.  The taste is okay, but the texture disturbs me.  So I guess, just add the crumbs to taste.  In my personal opinion, one teaspoon is definitely enough for one cup.  Even a little less would be okay.

Also, I’m curious as to how this drink would taste if you toasted the marshmallows before adding them?  Sounds interesting, and I’m curious as to how the toasted flavor would add to the rich chocolate.  Maybe you should try it and let me know?  =]

Please feel free to let me know what you think about this little experiment, and how tastey you think it is if you decide to try it.  Also, do you have any neat little experiments you’d like to share?  I’d love to know!  Really!

Yummy yumminess,
LunaFleur.

~ by lunafleur on December 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Kingdom”

  1. Amazing photos.. the chocolate looks great

Leave a Reply

 
