October Rain

Hey guys.  I’ve decided to put my procrastinating nature aside and finally pick up my story again.  I haven’t written on it since before we moved and I’ve inwardly scolded myself multiple times for it.  I really have no excuses now and since the world outside is being bombarded with heavy raindrops and cold wind (again), I’m going to attempt to write at least another chapter.  In celebration of this, I have decided to share with you a little excerpt that pretty much sums up the storyline.

October Rain -Darcus Murray
October Rain Cleary didn’t know herself.  She didn’t understand who she was or what she wanted to do with her life.  She would sit on the bank of the river surrounded by nature, or in her bedroom with the sounds of her drunk mother in the next room, and create characters embodying what she wanted to be.  October Rain Cleary had no idea who she was.  Until the summer she met Jack Devereux.

And another little preview.  Enjoy.

Nice to meet you, October. I’m sure you’ve noticed already, but we just moved in over there and I was wondering if you and your family would like to come over for dinner tonight? We’d love to have you. It’d be kind of a get to know each other thing.”  October noticed again the deeply southern lilt to their voices.

“Back off a little, Ma. Give the girl some air.” Jack’s lips spread into a fatal grin that could crush any girl’s heart and showcased teeth that could rival any model from a toothpaste commercial.

“It’s okay.” October stuttered. “I’m sorry, but I don’t think we’ll be able to. My mother is really sick tonight.”

“That’s alright. You have a great night then, and tell your mother we hope she gets better. You know where we are if you change your mind.” Marie smiled and motioned towards her house. “Bonjour, catin.”

Jack’s eyes made contact with October’s before he nodded his head and made his way back to his home. October understood. What happened today would be their secret. Jack wouldn’t tell.

A few hours later October heard a noise outside her house. She slipped open the door to investigate and found a plate of food on her front steps. In the moonlight she could see bare shoulders glinting as Jack Devereux ran across his yard.

LunaFleur.

~ by lunafleur on May 6, 2011.

6 Responses to “October Rain”

  1. So glad I stumbled onto your blog! If you’d like to link this post up, The Domestic Fringe is hosting Fiction Friday. This week is our first, but we plan on featuring blogger’s works of fiction each week. Hope you’ll consider joining us.

    I really enjoyed the excerpt. It left me wanting to read more!
    Here’s a link with the details of Fiction Friday.
    http://thedomesticfringe.com/2011/05/06/fiction-friday-1-the-beginning/
    -FringeGirl

    • Thank you! That’s a great idea. How could I not participate? What I’ll do though, is post the first chapter and post the link for THAT on your Fiction Friday. If that’s alright? Thank you so much!

  2. This sounds interesting. I’d love more visual details though, to help me picture these people. Keep writing.

    • Honestly, the first chapter just kind of sets up the scene or the back story. I just started writing and that was how it turned out. I promise there’s more detail, interaction, and diologue in the chapters to come. :] I’m glad you liked it though! Thanks!

      • I actually found the link to the full chapter after I posted this comment. I didn’t have time to read it however, but I will and then I’ll comment more intelligently.

      • That’s fine. :]

Leave a Reply

 
